Small Changes Making a Big Difference

I wanted to share some small changes I’ve recently made that have greatly immensely affected my skin. I have always had oily, acne prone skin with large pores and never ending black heads. Thanks to products in a previous post and with a little help from getting older, my skin has started to turn around. As great as my skin was looking, I still didn’t have the glowing skin I was after.

First, I started working out 3-4 days a week. I lift weights, do yoga, and sometimes incorporate a little cardio. My sessions are generally an hour long. I’ve noticed a huge difference in my body and it feels good to just sweat it out! Plus exercising is great if you have anxiety! Double whammy for me!

My husband and I started eating low carb. We thought about keto, but that’s way too 20180804_1930063389909817341563443.jpghard for us. We mainly needed to cut out the junk and watch our portion sizes. We love sweets but we knew we having ice cream for dinner every so often, wasn’t going to do us any good. We’ve done really well over the past 2 months. I’ve noticed significant changes including losing several inches from my hips and I’m no longer always feeling bloated. One of our favorite low carb dishes has been the taco skillet with shredded cheese taco shells! Eating low carb doesn’t mean sacrificing flavor! Also keep in mind the amount of carbs each person needs is different. Since I workout, I need a few more carbs than someone who is sedentary.

screenshot_20180905-121221_chrome4755613938528963003.jpg

 

I started incorporating a retinol from The Ordinary into my skincare routine. I chose the retinal 0.5% in squalane  since it has a medium strength solution. I didn’t want to go high strength before I knew what my skin would do, but I knew my skin could at least withstand a medium strength serum. I’ve been using this for a month and I can already notice my skin isn’t as red and blotchy as it use to be. I noticed my fine lines have slowly started to diminish, but they weren’t bad to being with – just a few expression lines but its better to be preventative! I have also noticed my blackheads starting to disappear and pimples are far and few between. Retinols unclog pores and help other products further penetrate the skin. I’ve found the best combination for my skin, so if you’re interested in an updated skin care routine – LET ME KNOW!

20180905_1103597797885817229404303.jpg

Water, water, and more water. Over the past 3 weeks I have tripled my water intake and drastically cut down on my pop intake. Look’n at you Diet Coke!! This has kept me hydrated for my workouts, keeps me fuller longer, given me more energy, has helped keep my skin hydrated to combat acne and the drying effects of Retinol.  Not to mention all the other health benefits you don’t see from increased water intake. I prefer ice cold water, so as soon as I get to work I throw my liter of water in the freezer for a few hours. I generally start my day with coffee, Gatorade, or a flavored water. I know it can be a pain lugging around several large bottles but its totally worth it! When I get home, I fill the liter’s back up and drink them through the evening. The only downside is the amount of times you’ll run to the bathroom. Haha.

Not only have I been feeling better but my skin has been looking so much better! It still has a ways to go, but I’m so happy with the improvements. I’ve been working on my skin for so long now and I’m glad its finally paying off. I’ve been mixing in light coverage foundations and bb creams into my rotation – I have been loving the fresh face feeling! If you struggle with your skin and it seems like nothing is working – pay attention to what you’re eating and how much water you’re drinking.

Taking care of yourself and your skin is not only great for you now, but will pay off in the long run! Nice skin also makes for nice makeup application!

Please let me know if you have any low carb recipes or snacks we should try, tips for keeping your skin clear, or workouts I should try!

2 thoughts on “Small Changes Making a Big Difference

  1. The past week or so I’ve had more sugary drink thank usual (normally I’d be lucky if I had three glasses in a week) and I feel so guility because I notice the difference too but somedays after work the first thing I want when I get home is a cold drink. I do drink more water than anything else but feel better when I’m more strict lol 😛

Leave a comment