Morphe x Jaclyn Hill – Armed & Gorgeous

Hey guys! Today I wanted to give you my thoughts on the Armed & Gorgeous Palette from the Morphe x Jaclyn Hill Vault Collection. I’m not going to get into the drama around the Vault Collection release, because unless you’ve been living under a rock, you’ve heard all about it.

Lets get into it.

The packaging is a thin and sleek heavy duty cardboard and features a nice size mirror, making is overall nice for traveling. The only thing I’m not a fan of -is how dirty the white packing will get but I’ve been making sure to wipe it clean when I’m done.

Each palette features 10 shadows that are a mix of matte and shimmers. I chose to only grab the Armed & Gorgeous palette instead of the entire collection. I knew I’d get the most use out of this one. Additionally, I didn’t want to invest in all 4 palettes and potentially be let down.

20180829_1227084584225831134339415.jpg20180829_1229427616718612969674973.jpg

The shades are perfect for fall and right up my alley. However, these were definitely not up to par with the previous Morphe x Jaclyn release. None of the shadows were as creamy as I would have expected them to be but I only had an issue with 3 shades. Top Secret is definitely patchy when swatched but I’ve only used it on my lower lash line so far – Its definitely going to be wise to slowly build and blend this shade instead of going in hard! Prowl was also patchy and harder to work with. I had to really take my time blending this one into the outer V. It took more effort than it should have! The shade that I was most excited for, ended up being the biggest disappointment. Classified looks like it would be a gorgeous shimmering bronze. It even swatches nicely; however, it comes off so incredibly chunky on the eyes. I have to use a wet flat shader brush for the best pay off and least amount of fall out.

I didn’t have an issue with any of the other shades but this has deterred me from even debating on grabbing any of the others. Luckily I used a 20% off coupon and points at Ulta on this palette, so I only paid $3.00 for it. For $3 its not a bad investment. I can understand if someone picks up one palette to accompany the original release, but I don’t think you should waste your time and money on all 4. This isn’t a jab at Morphe, I love their brand, but I’m a little disappointed in the product.

Have you picked up any of the palettes from the Vault Collection? If so, I’d love to hear how they worked for you!

 

2 thoughts on “Morphe x Jaclyn Hill – Armed & Gorgeous

  1. TheMakeupCase17

    I have no desire to pick up any of these. I lost all respect for Jaclyn as she constantly gets caught in lies about everything. She’s not who she used to be. She’s nothing but a commercial for Morphe these days.

    1. I try not to pay attention to the drama. It seems like its always something going on, and I’m just not interested. I like Morphe and haven’t had any major issues with their products before this one.

Leave a comment