Hi beauties!

Two weeks I decided to head to the Ulta Dermalogica Skin Bar for a much needed facial. I had booked my appointment several weeks out since I’ve been trying to take much better care of my skin and get all of my problem area’s under control. Better skin makes for better makeup application!

I decided to go with one of the Dermalogica MicroZone Express Treatments specifically the Clear Treatment which is supposed to rapidly treat blackheads and breakouts.

Lets get into the overall experience.

2017-01-17_10.34.24.jpg

First I had to wait 25 minutes past my appointment time before I was ever taken back for my treatment. I was not thrilled. If they knew they were running behind they could have made a courtesy call to let me know or ask if I would like to reschedule. I understand 10-15 but 25?! Things were already off to a bad start.

Once it was finally my turn, the esthetician was very kind but I felt as if she didn’t listen to any of my needs. She told me I didn’t need the Clear Treatment as that was normally reserved for those who are severely broken out and she decided to go with the Glow Treatment which is a mild exfoliating treatment to help the skin glow.  I knew I didn’t have a ton of breakouts but I did have blackheads I wanted to get rid of but I decided to just let her go with the exfoliation. I figured its going to be more effective than how I exfoliate at home.

She cleansed my skin, exfoliated, applied a mask, toned, moisturized and lastly sprayed a refreshing facial mist. She used the Dermalogica Daily Microfoliant which is an exfoliating powder you mix with water and apply to face in circular motions. She was very gentle – especially when exfoliating – almost TOO gentle. I don’t know about anyone else but I tend to apply quite a bit of pressure when I exfoliate. I really didn’t feel as if it did much for me.

20170118_171457.jpg

My skin felt nice when we were done and I wasn’t red at all. She gave me samples of the Dermalogica Dynamic Skin Recovery, Multivitamin Power Serum, and Overnight Clearing Gel (for my breakouts….). The treatment was $27.00 and Ulta has a promotion for 5x the points for Platinum members on beauty services. As a side note I’m really trying to save my points and go on a large shopping spree for my 30th birthday this year.

Anyway,  when I got home I washed my face bc I felt extremely oily then I applied my normal moisturizers before bed. When I woke up I was EXREMELY broken out. Normally exfoliating doesn’t break me out but it really could have been any of the products she used. I’ve never used anything from the Dermalogica line so I’m not sure if its an ingredient I had a reaction too or she cleansed my skin so well it drug all of my impurities out. Now my skin is a hot mess….The area’s where I was broken out are now dried and peeling even with piling on the moisturizers and hydrating face masks.  *sigh*

I’m scheduled to go back for a microdermabrasion a week before I go to LA and I’m really thinking about canceling or moving my appointment.

What have your experience’s been Dermalogica products or the Ulta services?

 

 

