I’ve had troublesome skin since high school. While I may not have as many acne breakouts now, I still see bumps, redness, and large pores. The larges pre could be partly hereditary and partly due to my bad habit of picking at my acne. I also have oily skin which doesnt tend to help matters. It has taken me YEARS to find products that actually work for my skin.  Read on to see what actually works for me!

20160110_114339.jpg

20160110_114353-1.jpg

First up is the Mario Badescu Facial Spray with Aloe, Herbs and Rosewater. I’ve talked about this before but thats how much I love this stuff. It really helps to keep my skin hydrated and calm. I see a lot of redness on my forehead, cheeks, and chin but this stuff completely calms it down! I can’t rave enough about this stuff. I apply moisturizer and then spray a hefty amount of this on. I let it all soak in before starting my makeup routine.  I have even sprayed this on my legs after shaving! I just like to spray it on my face when I’m not wearing makeup since its so refreshing! It also doesn’t make my skin any oilier! Keeping your skin hydrated should not make you produce more oily. It migh tactually be over producing for lack of hydration – something to keep in mind! The biggest bottle Ulta has is 4oz for $7 but the Mario Badescu has 8oz for $12. I’ve been ordering directly from the site for the larger bottle. 8oz lasts about 2 months for me but I spray it all over!

20160110_114430-1.jpg

The next product is the Strivectin- AR Advanced Retinol Night Treatment. I believe I received this in a beauty box or as a free sample or something. Not exactly sure where it came! Anyway, as I’m not getting any younger and I’m creeping up on 30 fast than i’d actually like, I decided to give this a whirl after reading teh benefits of retinol. Retinol is a derivative that boosts collagen to reduce fine lines and speeds cell turnover to even out discoloration and smooth skin. Retinol also aids in cleaning acne!  This product claims to nourish skin, reducing the appearance of fine lines and deep-set wrinkles, evening out skin tone, and increasing radiance. Also, StriVectin is safe for sensitive skin, as well as paraben-free and noncomedogenic.

I have had wonderful results using this! I only apply it before bed 3 times a week so I dont dry out my skin. This has drastically reduced teh size of some of my pores that were very large due to picking at my acne. The most noticeable was one on my nose and on my cheek. While they are both still larger than my other pores they have dramatically reduced in size! It helps keep my “time of the month” acne minimal and has greatly improved the look of my skin! I have the .25 oz size that you can get from Macy’s for $20. I’ve been using it 3 times a week since mid November and I still have about 1/3 of the product left. It only take a small amount to apply a thin layer over your face.  The full size runs between $109-$112 depending on where you pick it up. Thats pretty pricey for a night cream! However I’m going to have to bite the bullet and pick it up, I’m hoping there will be a sale before I run out! Its made such a drastic change in my skin and I highly recommend it!

20160110_114436-1.jpg

Last but not least is teh Origins Clear Improvement Active Charcoal Mask. I recieved this in a goody bag that came with a purchase from Sephora. I was very skeptical at first adn threw it in a drawer with other samples I may never use. After looking at reviews on Sephora I decided to give it a try. It it suppose to draw out deep dwelling dirt from clogged pores.  After the first use I noticed a big difference! Not all of my pores were unclogged but a lot of them were. It drew out most of my blackheads and my skin looked fresh and clean. If I have a pimple starting to form and I use this mask, by the next day it is completely gone! Sephora offers 3 different sizes of this mask. The full size is $25.

I’m always trying to find new skin care items to help improve my skin, so please share anything you’ve been using thats helped you!

